Closed

Abby and Jonah have been dealing with our cross-country move fairly well and are enjoying all their time with grandparents, cousins, dogs, cats and wide-open spaces. But moving away from all of their friends and familiar surroundings has been difficult and Scott and I have noticed little struggles. One difficulty for the kids (and me) is adjusting to the quietness where we are currently living. We are in the mountains where you cannot even see the closest house. And because the house is powered by solar panels and a wind turbine rather than electricity, the quietness really settles in at night when the only sounds are the coyotes and neighbor dogs.

To deal with the quiet nights, Abby, who is sleeping on the bottom of a bunk bed, has built a “fort”. She has draped blankets from the slats above her and the footboard beside her head (yes, she prefers to sleep with her head at the bottom of the bed). She says the fort is to keep the darkness out. But now, she has also started crawling into her fort during the day, just to play or read books. It’s her comfort zone.

Today, while I was working on other things around the house, I noticed that I hadn’t heard from Abby in awhile. Walking into her room, I noticed that all the blankets on her bed were “closed”, so I peeked inside. Of course, there she was, as content as a clam. But when I peeked in, she looked at me and politely, but quite seriously said, “Mama, didn’t you see the sign? My fort is closed.” Sure enough, she had taped a piece of paper to the outside of her bed with a big ‘X’ drawn on it. Trying not to giggle, I apologized for not noticing the sign and headed back out of the room.

As I left, Abby called after me “But Mama, you’re welcome to come in anytime.” Mama’s get privileges!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in family, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Closed

  1. Steph says:

    That is hilarious! We miss you guys a ton. It is a little quieter hear now too without our wonderful downstairs neighbors 😦 I walk by your apartment a couple of days ago, and heard someone and thought for a split second that you guys were there, and then realized it was the painting crew, so sad.

  2. Jenn Box says:

    Sarah,
    I never heard back from you-I hope you got my message on your cell phone. So, are you guys living here, or just visiting with Scott’s parent’s? Call me soon and we’ll catch up-or if e-mailing is easier, that is fine too. Hope you guys are well.

  3. Dad & Mom says:

    Such a sweet story – and so glad to see you are striving always to make the best of all situations. What very sweet friends you made back in Mass!
    Love

  4. i hope when the kids have ‘adjusted’ a little more to the change, you get and take the chance to show them both just how beautiful that great big wide open (sometimes quiet) world out there can be! It is God’s Gift to us.

    It would be a huge shame for them to miss out on so much and only feel ‘safe and comfortable’ inside of their fortresses.

    We can’t do much to show His Love locked away from the world and what we learn as kids generally stays with us in some form for life.

    <B

    • Sarah says:

      Love,

      Thanks for the thoughts. I’ve seen your comments on Mandy and Tam’s blogs…it’s nice to see you here.

      My husband and I loved being out East for three years, but we also love the West. On our trip out here, we actually stopped on the side of the road just to take pictures of the sky and the fields.

      I agree that what we learn as kids we often carry into adulthood, but I also feel that the kids need to learn to create their own “safe” places. They won’t always have my husband and I around to help them adjust.

      Abby gets a part of her personality from me…I have accepted big changes in my life many times, and I have learned to enjoy everywhere I’ve lived, but I often have to “hide” for a couple weeks when I am facing big change until I have mentally adjusted. Once I have had a couple weeks of quiet, I am ready to go out and explore.

      I really appreciate your thoughts. πŸ™‚

      • it is of considerable ‘comfort’ to me to hear you (and through you perhaps also your children) will take on the ‘challenges’ that change brings and not become too locked away πŸ˜‰

        i am forever grateful for the fact that my Aunt was able to help me as a young single child of two working parents to go ‘out’ and explore and learn more about the world beyond the walls i could have built to keep me ‘safe’.

        Except for the safety we are able to gain from Him and Him alone (in Him is our refuge from the world) i think ‘safety’ in this world is considerably over-rated! πŸ˜‰

        In some cases the ‘safest’ places are the ones with walls we can never learn to escape from.

        i guess it depends upon one’s perspective and experiences in life?

        i do understand that, particularly as Children, there is a need for some consistency and a feeling of being ‘secure’ in a very uncertain and unfamiliar place(world).

        Never an easy thing to be a good parent or to find a good balance! πŸ™‚

        <B

Leave a Reply

