Molting

Did you know that Dragonflies lay their eggs in water? And once the eggs hatch, they become ugly little water creatures that move by shooting water out of their behind — my kids find that little fact to be hilarious. And then, as these water bugs grow, they molt four to five times. Each time they molt, their body changes until their final molt when they crawl onto a branch and emerge from their shell as an adult dragonfly.

Amazing.

Last Sunday, our pastor gave what was probably the most unique sermon I have heard on the subject of stewardship/tithing. He began upfront by telling the congregation that the church is beginning its annual stewardship drive. Then, he began talking about how we, as humans, are often our own worst critics. We consistently dwell on how we want to be better, but fail to acknowledge and take joy in the accomplishments and good that we do. (I am so guilty of that. I find it extremely difficult to ever pat myself on the back. Instead, I remind myself of what I can do better.) So he challenged us to take this week and not think about our stewardship pledge, but instead to dwell all week on our blessings and the things that are good in our life. And then next week, we’ll pray about our pledge.

While lying in bed last night, I began talking with God and going back through the past couple days, not even thinking about science or this sermon. And as I lay there, I began repenting for my bad attitude and for areas where I feel like I constantly fail. I was mentally trapped in my past and I was feeling like an ugly little water bug. Then I remembered II Corinthians 3:18 that says, And we, who…are being transformed into His likeness.

Being transformed…

Yes, my nature still longs to be selfish, controlling, bitter. And I need to repent when I sin in thought or deed. But I repent not because I have no hope of being better, but because I have a Savior. And he is transforming me. Constantly. My mistakes today do not negate all the molting that God has done in my life. I have been transformed. And I continue to be transformed. I can gratefully acknowledge and take joy in that fact.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Christianity, faith, family, Homeschool, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Molting

  1. That’s good Sarah. I just worked out a song of general confession for the church. This fits right in with my idea – that for His glory he will forgive us. that we’re aren’t worthy to be His people. And that’s the beauty of it, to me. That He still will forgive us, help us have a fresh start, and empower us to do a better job next time. Transforming, grace by grace.

  2. Mom says:

    Such a wonderful reminder! All of nature reminds us of our Saviour if we but look! This is good stuff – Thanks!
    Love –

  3. hugs4mom says:

    I am in the process of figuring out how to hang a suet bird feeder to a tree and not have the kids play pinata with it! We havent gotten to the dragonfly chapter…cant wait.

Leave a Reply

