Morning Snow

My son has been praying that it will snow for weeks now. I’m not sure why, but the boy loves snow! (Maybe he gets it from me.) He has really been praying that it would snow by his birthday, which we have been gently reminding him is still pretty early in the season for snow.

This morning, I woke up to a very excited little boy bouncing around our room and singing “It snowed! It snowed! Look outside, it snowed!” Sure enough, there wasn’t much, but we had a light dusting of snow covering the ground. And the weather forecast is apparently showing a good chance for heavy snow later in the week. Just in time for his birthday.

So, while the kids played outside this morning, I made Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins (my kids favorite muffins) and Pumpkin Spice coffee…in honor of the snow.

It’s been a great morning for our family. How about for you?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins
(Tweaked from this recipe.)

2 cups all purpose flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 Tbs cinnamon
1/2 Tbs nutmeg
ginger and allspice to taste

Mix above ingredients in bowl. (Note: We like spice and I usually add more than normal, so feel free to cut back on the spices above.)

In another bowl, mix following wet ingredients:

3/4 cup milk
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tbs vanilla (see note above re: spices)
3 tbs butter, melted
10 ozs canned pumpkin (I usually use about 3/4 can of canned pumpkin and freeze whatever is left. This way, I can make about 3 batches of muffins out of 2 cans of pumpkin.)

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix. Stir in approximately 1 cup of chocolate chips. Spoon into greased muffin tins and bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in family, Fun Stuff, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Morning Snow

  1. savorysimple says:

    Sounds delicious! Can’t get enough pumpkin this time of year.

  2. hugs4mom says:

    yay snow!!

  3. Mom says:

    Yay, Jonah! Keep it up!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

