Nanowrimo

NANOWRIMO Badge

In four days I will begin a challenge that both thrills and terrifies me. I will be writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Yup. I’ve officially gone crazy.

I found Nanowrimo several months ago and haven’t been able to get it out of my mind since. I’ve never written a novel. I’ve never even written a short story. And I do not yet have a plot. But, I do love to write. And I have officially signed up, so write I will.

I have been wanting to write professionally for quite some time now, but life and doubts and fears have continually distracted me. With Nanowrimo, I will be writing on a crazy short schedule, but, I am giving myself permission to throw all perfection out the window. My goal with this is not to write some brilliant story. Far from it. I simply want to jump start my creativity. To practice putting words to paper…or at least to computer screen. And I want to see if I can actually write 50,000 coherent words in story form.

So, what do you think? Have I totally lost my mind? Any good plot ideas?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nanowrimo

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    Good for you! Go for it! As for a plot, what gets the motor of your mind going the most non-stop?
    Love you –

  2. alece says:

    wow. i give you credit for attempting this one. i’m not creative (or brave) enough to write fiction.

  3. I’m so stinking proud of you!!!!

  4. Jessica says:

    how many words did you get? love the snow on the blog site!!

Leave a Reply

