A First

Last night, Abby asked me to check her bottom tooth, which has been slightly wiggly for several months. She was very excited when I confirmed that it was indeed very loose and that it would probably come out before Christmas.

This morning during school time, she was talking to me when I noticed a gap between her teeth. When I asked her to open her mouth for me and checked the tooth, it was barely hanging on to her gums.

Knowing that I was the official tooth puller-outer, I put Abby in my lap, ready to tell her a story while I popped the tooth out. Immediately, Abby started bawling, covering her mouth with her hand and biting her lips to hold her mouth shut.

As I started telling her the story, waiting for her to relax enough that I could get my finger on her tooth, she cried that she really had to use the bathroom and if we made her wait, she was going to have an accident in her pants.

A couple minutes later, she came out of the bathroom, holding the tooth in her hand. Apparently, she decided she’d rather pull it herself, so she stood in front of the mirror and wiggled it right out. All by herself.

That’s my girl. Little Miss I’ll Do It Myself, Thank You. 🙂

The Tooth Fairy apparently needs to get on the ball today.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in family, Fun Stuff, Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A First

  1. Wow… She’s awesome!

    You know. I’m so not ready to pull teeth. That just grosses me out. I cringed reading this. yep. I’m gonna let Drew handle that part of the parenting job!

  2. Grandpa & Grandma says:

    Good try, Mom! 🙂
    Abby! What a big girl! We are so proud of you! Now, put that straw in place and enjoy your chocolate milk.
    Love

  3. Jessica says:

    Lol we had a lost tooth the Monday after Thanksgiving and wouldn’t you know it the tooth fairy was late. I told Micah it must have been because of all the holiday traffic. He gave me a knowing look and said uh-huh Mom. Do you think he knows? =)

Leave a Reply

