No Training Wheels

My kids love to ride their bikes. When we lived in Massachusetts, they would ride their bikes almost every day during the summer and fall — on the sidewalks, around the big circle, around campus as Jessica and I walked.

They haven’t used their bikes much since we have been in New Mexico. Mainly because I feel nervous about them riding on the sidewalk along the major road where we are living.

Three weeks ago, Jonah needed his bike for a Cub Scout den meeting. So we dug the bikes out and let both kids ride them at the school parking lot where the cub scouts were meeting.

Very. Happy. Kids.

The next weekend, while I was at a Beth Moore simulcast, Scott took the kids to the parking lot of a local mega church. Because the parking lot is MASSIVE. And apparently, it’s the go-to place for kids to learn how to ride their bikes and teenagers to learn how to drive/park.

By the time they picked me up, both kids couldn’t wait to show me everything they had learned on their bikes.

Now it’s a routine. Every other day, or so, we head over to the Hoffmantown parking lot, pull the bikes out of the back of the van (their new home) and let the kids ride.

This past Wednesday, we had a pretty momentous occasion. The training wheels came off Abby’s bike.

She’s pumped!

By the end of the evening, she was following her brother around the lot, little legs peddling as fast as they could.

She’s a big girl now!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in family, Fun Stuff, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Training Wheels

  1. I miss that little girl. 😦 Guess she’s not so little anymore…

  2. Grandpa & Grandma says:

    Way to go, Abby! We are so proud of you!!!
    We Love You –

Leave a Reply

