Considering Sophie Scholl…

Our church had a women’s retreat this past weekend that I was able to attend. Friday evening after a shared meal, we watched the movie, Sophie Scholl, The Final Days. I had never even heard of this movie prior to Friday night, and because I was in a quiet mood that evening, I simply listened rather than joining in with the discussion afterwards. But I have been thinking about this movie, and Sophie Scholl, a lot since then.

I have not studied the life of Sophie Scholl, and did not even know who she was before viewing this movie. But I can’t stop thinking about her courage. And not only that, but her amazing grounding in right and wrong which I believe fed her courage. She lived in a world where news was censored and propoganda reigned and access to the outside world was tightly controlled. Where people disappeared for expressing a contrary opinion, or for not being born with the correct genetics. She lived in a society with intense pressure to conform.

More than once, she was offered a way out, a way to water down her actions and opinions in order to save her life. She could have accepted those chances and justified her decision. But she didn’t. She had this incredible, exceptional sense of right. And she gave her life for it.

I sit here with my laptop, able to connect with the world, free to express my opinions. And yet, I sit here afraid of offending others. Afraid of others not liking me — or worse, not liking my words. Afraid of being wrong, even when I know the truth.

Even now, I want to go back and re-write the previous paragraph to make it less strong. Softer. Nicer.

I believe that the free world is going to face a testing. And probably sooner than later. We are reaching a place where tolerance is worshipped. Where the only wrong view is the view that still believes in right and wrong.

And I’m afraid that I may be just weak enough to conform. Knowing the truth, but conforming to lies.

I don’t want to conform. I want to live my life standing strongly in truth. Whatever the consequences.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Considering Sophie Scholl…

  1. I’ve had a number of people ask me what I think about Jennifer Knapp’s ‘coming out’ etc… And, after sharing what you’d expect to be my personally sympathetic but Biblically conservative response, I typed this:

    I’m also worried that if I (or any of us) ever voiced this opinion publicly, we’d be considered bigoted and intolerant and discriminatory and unloving. Oh man. I just don’t think that could be any further from the truth.

    • Sarah says:

      I agree. It is so difficult for me to voice an opinion that I know will be strongly opposed. Still trying to figure out the balance. How do we maintain a voice that the world will listen to, without losing our voice in the process?

      Still thinking about this movie, and all of its applications today. I would love for this to be a bigger discussion.

Leave a Reply

