I didn’t realize

Awhile back I bought Abby a new leotard and tights for her ballet lessons. I bought them at Target. Then, I found some preferable ones at a local store. Our schedule being what it is, and my mind being what it is, I failed to return the original items to target until after I no longer had the receipt.

But, the items had never been used and were in their original packaging with their Target tags still on them, so I figured I would try to take them back anyway.

Target was happy to take them back no questions asked. Except that that they had to credit the charge to the card that I originally used for the purchase.

We have two bank accounts and I wasn’t sure which one I originally used. I didn’t think it would matter. So I chose the most likely card and handed it over.

Customer service scanned my card. Nope. Apparently I have not purchased those items with that card.

My other card is scanned. “Yep, there they are.” And the credit is processed.

I don’t have a Target charge card. I don’t have an online Target account. These were my personal bank cards.

And maybe I’m being paranoid. But I doubt Target is the only business that could tell me everything I’ve purchased from them. Which makes me wonder, how much of my personal information is being tracked along with my purchases and who is being allowed to purchase that information?

I’m not quite ready to go to an all cash basis. But the thought has crossed my mind.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in awareness, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I didn’t realize

  1. Jenn Box says:

    I never thought twice about this, but we have almost completely moved to cash, and boy what a difference it makes in how you view your money, and what you buy that you “need”. Dave Ramsey is so great!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi Jen! That’s great that going to cash has made a difference for you. I definitely like having a budget when we go to the store, whether we pay with cash or card.

  2. Oh that’s weird… Almost creepy actually.

Leave a Reply

