Freezable: Vegetable Broth

This broth makes a nice rich base which we use to brine our holiday turkey. It is also great as a base for soups and for enriching homemade turkey broth/chicken broth, etc.

I originally used a recipe from Twelve Months of Monastery Soups by Brother Victor-Antoine d’Avilla-Latourrette and have since modified it to the following version.

Vegetable Broth
3 large yellow waxed turnips, peeled and cubed
1 small bag parsnips (4-5 parsnips), sliced into round coins
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
4 large carrots, peeled and sliced into round coins
3-4 stalks celery, chopped
2 oranges, quartered
3-4 leeks, sliced (I cut off the bottoms and a good chunk of the tops using most of the white and about half of the green)
several leaves green cabbage
3-4 sprigs fresh rosemary
3-4 sprigs fresh thyme
3-4 stalks fresh basil
2 TBS black peppercorns
2 TBS Allspice Berries
1 TBS whole cloves
2-3 TBS kosher salt
cheesecloth
Large stockpot

place leeks, cabbage leaves, fresh herbs and spices in large piece of cheesecloth. Tie cheesecloth closed and place in stockpot. Add all other vegetables and oranges to stock pot. Fill with water until all vegetables are covered. (I use a 16 quart stock pot and usually fill it to the 14 quart mark.)

Bring to boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 2-3 hours.

Let cool in stockpot. When cool enough to work with, scoop out vegetables. Save these! They freeze well in gallon zip lock bags and are great for adding to soups and stews! Throw away the packet of herbs and spices.

Strain broth through cheesecloth and store according to your preference.

I usually keep my broth in the refrigerator when I plan to use it within a week. Otherwise, I freeze the broth in ziplock bags or or storage containers.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Freezable: Vegetable Broth

  1. Turkey Soup ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Freezable: Turkey Soup « My Peace and Joy

Leave a Reply

