Freezable: Turkey Soup

This is a recipe that I make twice a year using our holiday turkeys. 1 turkey frame will make approximately 10-12 quarts of soup, so be sure you have plenty of freezer space!

I’ve included how we cook our turkey because the process adds to the overall flavor of the soup, but feel free to use your turkey frame no matter how it has been cooked.

Turkey Soup

We brine and cook our turkey following Alton Brown’s Good Eats Roast Turkey recipe.

Remove most of meat from turkey frame.

In large stock pot, add:

Turkey frame
1/2 gallon vegetable broth (optional. My homemade vegetable broth usually makes at least 1/2 gallon extra to add here.)
Fresh herbs (I use whatever I have leftover from the holiday meal, usually sage, rosemary and thyme)
2 oranges, cut into wedges
2 TBS each: black peppercorns, allspice berries, whole cloves (tie these spices in cheesecloth to make removal easier)

Add enough water to stock pot to cover everything. Cover stockpot and bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer 2-3 hours. Let cool.

When cool, remove everything from broth separating the meat and discarding everything else.

**Turkey bones can be very small and difficult to see. When making this soup, I use my hands to check every bit of turkey for stray bones before adding it back into the soup.**

Strain broth through cheesecloth and then add back into stockpot along with meat.

Add vegetables. (I save the vegetables from my homemade vegetable broth and use them here, along with one 16 oz bag of frozen peas and one 16 oz bag of frozen corn. If you are not using homemade vegetable broth, add any vegetables you prefer in soup.)

Salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

***This will make a basic turkey soup with a mild flavor. Feel free to season the turkey soup according to your taste. Assuming I am seasoning 12 quarts of soup, I would also add:

approx. 1/3 cup Worchestershire Sauce
approx. 2 Tbs Montreal Seasoning
approx. 1 TBS Seasoning Salt
approx. 1 TBS Garlic Salt

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freezable: Turkey Soup

  1. yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yesssssss!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

