Recipe: Morning Smoothie

I have been struggling with some health issues and because of that I am trying to make better food choices. Toward that end, I have been making smoothies for breakfast. They are quick to prepare, take me awhile to drink, and keep me full for the morning.

This recipe is not very sweet and has a slight tartness, which I love.

~~~~~~~~~~~
Morning Smoothie

1 cup Chobani vanilla yogurt
1 banana
1/4 cup pineapple orange juice
1 cup frozen fruit blend (I buy the large bag from Costco that includes strawberries, pineapple, honeydew melon and peaches)**
1 small handful frozen cranberries**

Place everything in blender and blend until smooth. Pour into glass and enjoy!

**My blender is not very strong, so I use the “soften cream cheese” setting on my microwave to barely soften the fruit before blending.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe: Morning Smoothie

  1. Mom says:

    Oh, Yes! I love nutritious smoothies! Is there anything special about Chobani yogurt?
    Love

    • Sarah says:

      Chobani is an all natural yogurt that is very thick and creamy. I started buying it because I’m avoiding processed sugars and Chobani uses evaporated cane juice instead of high fructose corn syrup or other highly processed sugars. Plus, it has a bunch of live active cultures and is all natural. The vanilla has three ingredients (besides the cultures)…milk, vanilla extract and evaporated cane juice.

      I sound like a commercial, but really, I just like it. 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    Oh, – very good.
    How about tossing in a Tbs of ground flaxseed?
    🙂

Leave a Reply

