My Sweetie’s Rubbing Off On Me

I was nineteen when I first met Scott. It was toward the end of my first year of college. We became instant friends. And it was only a couple months before we started talking about how we’d probably get married someday. You know, in like, ten years. Whenever we both decided to settle down.

Just kidding. I mean, unless you weren’t kidding. Were you kidding? Oh, yeah, I was kidding too.

So one evening as Scott was walking me back to my dorm he came to the realization that I had never watched the Star Wars trilogy. Never. I’d seen bits and pieces when I walked through the room while my brothers were watching an episode, but I was never interested.

Gasp. Horror. Say it isn’t so! But it was so. And worse, I saw no problem with my current situation.

Just over four years later we were married and I had still not watched the entire trilogy. Although I had seen a larger portion of some of the episodes. But my husband was on a mission. Because he LOVES science fiction…and I just didn’t get it.

Eleven years later, I can quite happily agree that the Star Wars episodes are fun to watch. I still probably wouldn’t pick one out on my own, but I’m content to watch them with my kids or my sweetie. What’s more, I’ve come to realize that Star Wars is not the only science fiction out there.

I know!

Maybe if David Tennet had been The Doctor fifteen years ago, I would have jumped on the science fiction bandwagon way back then.

Either way, I’ve now made my husband a very happy man. Not only do I realize that a wookie is not the same thing as an ewok, but when my husband talks about The Doctor, I don’t have to ask, Doctor Who?

And when he says I’m his number 42, I can respond appropriately and say, aww, thanks Sweetie. You’re a real frood.

Hey, that’s a lot of progress for me.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Sweetie’s Rubbing Off On Me

  1. Sweetie says:

    You have come so far over the course of our marriage and I am immensly proud of you! And yet you still have so much farther to come saddle up your dragon and off we will ride!!!

  2. “Were you kidding? Oh, yeah, I was kidding too.” haha funny!!! 🙂

    So. Um. I’m glad I never clearly explained how little I know about Star Wars when we lived up there. Because, between that and the Georgia Hoodie, I don’t think Scott would’ve let me in the apartment.

    I can’t say I’ve really truly paid-attention-watched a single episode.

    I KNOW!

  3. Debbi says:

    ……aaahhhh that’s NORBERTA…. hate to burst our bubble..just ask Charlie. Ask Sweetie wh he didn’t tell me Chewbacca died!!!

  4. Debbi says:

    I’ve been listening to them on my drive to and from work. Got all the SW books from Brett when I hurt my leg. Makes the drive much more interesting!

    • Sarah says:

      Nice. I want to start listening to more audio books.

      I asked Scott about Chewbacca. I think he only gives credit to the parts of the SW books that he actually likes. 🙂

  5. Debbi says:

    Oh, you mean how he kinda ignores certain ST movies, that he doesn’t like???? Just skips that number completely… I never should have let him take that movie critiquing class in high school….he hasn’t been the same since!

Leave a Reply

