The Elephant in the Closet

There’s an elephant in my closet.
Maybe you have one too.
I’d rather we never met,
but she’s part of all I do.

I have closeted elephants before.
They seem to come and go.
I sequester those I cannot ignore,
hoping no one will know.

They return sometimes,
slipping in at night,
covering me in grime,
then leaving after the fight.

But this elephant,
she appears here to stay.
And as much as I try,
I can’t get away.

At times she lays,
docile and quiet,
almost forgotten,
content to wait.

Other times she rouses,
casting the world in gray,
shadowing every move,
constantly in the way.

And then the rages,
when she breaks down the door,
tramples and bruises.
I’m left tired, sore.

She burdens with pain
weighs down with fatigue.
defies reason,
has no source.

There are no answers.
I just want others to know:
I have an elephant in my closet.
And I wonder if you do too.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Elephant in the Closet

  1. Sweetie says:

    It takes courage, strength and moxy to face down anything as big as an elephant, and you have all of that in spades. I Love You and will always be by your side, elephant be dammed. (also he is leaving peanut shell everywhere, please talk to him about that!!)

  2. I think I killed my elephant about 10 months ago. At least, I ran it off… But it was a long process. And it sticks its head in my life every so often. And I scare it away again. 🙂

    Love how you wrote this…

  3. Pingback: Dealing With Unidentifiable Health Issues « My Peace and Joy

Leave a Reply

