Easy/Quick Recipe: Clam Chowder

Seafood has always been a bit intimidating to me. The cooking and the eating of it. However, when we moved to New England, Scott and I began trying various seafood dishes, because how can you not when you live in New England.

And it wasn’t so bad. In fact, it’s actually very good. Especially clam chowder.

Yummm…

I cringe to admit that we lived in New England for three years and I never learned to make clam chowder. But now that we have a second chance to live so close to the coast, I am rectifying that situation. Oh yes I am.

Although I’m still tweaking recipes that use fresh clams, or at least trying to, this recipe is great because it is quick, easy, and utilizes ingredients from the pantry…canned clams and clam base.


~~~~

Clam Chowder

2 TBS butter
1 TBS flour
2 TBS Clam Base
1 TBS minced garlic
2 cans clams, with juice
3 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
2 cups 1/2 and 1/2
1/2 cup Heavy Cream
Salt and Pepper to taste

Melt butter in large saucepan. Add flour, garlic and clam base. When mixed well, add clams with their juice. Slowly add 1/2 and 1/2 and cream. Add diced potatoes and bring to boil, then reduce to simmer. Stir regularly until chowder has thickened and potatoes are soft. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy/Quick Recipe: Clam Chowder

  1. gmomj says:

    Sounds like home!
    I grew up on Cape Cod and Rhode Island.
    Chowder, yum!

  2. Léna Roy says:

    Sounds dee-lish! My husband made clam chowder for the first time a couple of weeks ago and we were all in heaven!

Leave a Reply

