What’s On My Bookshelf

I love books. I love browsing through bookstores or my local library’s shelves, searching for a new book to read. I love flipping through the pages and reading the covers to gauge the length and style of the story. I love engaging with the author in my mind, conversing about their world — whether fictional or not — and learning more about myself through their words.

I continue to practice my own writing, even when I feel my words are empty, meaningless and lacking in art or craft, because someday I want my own words to contribute to the conversation that books create in the minds of readers.

I love to read. And that love powers my desire to write. If I had to choose between one or the other, I would choose reading. Hands down. No contest.

Currently, I am in the middle of reading two books, both of which I would highly recommend:

Soul Feast, an Invitation to the Christian Spiritual Life by Marjorie J. Thompson (10th Anniversary Edition)

I Shall Not Hate: A Gaza Doctor’s Journey on the Road to Peace and Human Dignity, by Izzeldin Abuelaish

So, what is currently on your book shelf?

Disclosure of Material Connection: I have not received any compensation for writing this post. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s On My Bookshelf

  1. I’ve been reading Mary Karr’s Lit since last year. yep… It’s growing too dark for my taste. But it’s still so interesting. Ok. My goal is to have it finished by this time next week. I have another book I’m ready to move on towards.

    • Sarah says:

      Mmm, yes. I borrowed that book from the library and began reading it. She’s a good writer, but it is a difficult read. I haven’t made it very far yet.

      What’s your next book?

  2. Jenn Box says:

    You should read “The Twelfth Imam” by Joel Rosenburg. An amazing fiction story (but that could easily happen in the coming days).

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks Jenn. I’m not familiar with Joel Rosenburg, but I’ll look for that book at my library. I enjoy trying new fiction.

      • Jenn Box says:

        Yeah, be sure to check out the one your mom said. He’s a part of “Joshua Fund”, a group that supports Israel, and he’s an Israeli adviser. He’s been to Calvary several times, and is an expert on end times, but writes fiction too. I think it’s one you’ll love.

  3. Mom says:

    Yes, I have The Twelfth Imam requested at my library as soon as it is available. I really find his books fascenating. Be sure to look for Joel C. Rosenberg. The other Joel Rosenberg is not the same author.

Leave a Reply

