Interview with my 10 year old

I sat down with my pre-teen, too-soon-to-be-teen son and asked him if he would like to be interviewed on my blog. Bouncing up and down and nodding his head vigorously, he agreed.

Good-evening, Jonah.

Hello

Jonah, what would you say is your favorite thing about being 10?

Hmmm. I can stay up longer so I can read more books.

Ahh. And what is your favorite book right now and why?

My favorite book is The Mysterious Benedict Society because it is mysterious.

Would you care to elaborate a little bit?

Elaborate?

Tell me more about why you like this book.

As I told you, it’s mysterious. And adventurous. And surprising. (giggle)

Anything else?

My favorite character is Reynie…and Kate, because she is very adventurous.

What is this story about?

It’s about four kids, out of hundreds of kids, these four kids completed a series of tests and are now part of a secret spy organization which is trying to save all of mankind. That’s all. I’m not a spoil-sport.

Very good. What is your favorite color, and why?

Green. Because it’s the recycling color and it reminds me of lushy grass.

How do you like living in New England?

Again. (Living in New England again.) Excellent, except almost all of my friends have moved away. And it’s so wet, except for the winter, but mostly it’s so wet that the Great Lakes would look like a joke to New England. And I bet every New Englander would disagree about that, but hey, it gets wet here. That’s all. Oh, except for, it’s good to be back at our old library.

Good point. Tell me about your local library.

Our library has a lego club, chess club, strategy game club, a teen area, a children’s area and the rest of the area is adults and classrooms. And it has lots and lots of books. And some videos, playaways, tapes, cds and video games. All of the library people are friendly and it has a friendly atmosphere. Never dark or creepy, or feeling like something has died there and never been found. It gets plenty of sunlight. It has fishes and a little kids area that has Thomas train tracks and stuffed animals.

Sounds like a great library.

It is.

So, Jonah, is there anything else you would like our readers to know?

Beware of the werewolves.

I should have been more specific. Is there anything else you would like our readers to know about you?

I like playing outside, climbing trees, reading books, and for some reason, campus safety doesn’t like us climbing trees often. I like listening to Harry Potter audiobooks and when my mom and dad read me Harry Potter books. And I enjoy reading Wolves of the Beyond by Kathryn Lasky.

Anything else non-book related?

I like playing video games.

Thank you, Jonah, for joining me on the blog today. You’re my favorite 10 year old in the whole world. πŸ™‚

I’ll be letting Jonah check comments with me throughout the day and over the weekend, so say hello in the comment box.

And I’ll be interviewing Abby sometime next week. She’s very excited.

Also, if you haven’t yet voted in Wednesday’s poll, there’s still time to let me know what kind of things you’d like to read more of here on the blog.

Happy Weekend!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun for Kids, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Interview with my 10 year old

  1. Grandpa & Grandma says:

    Good job, Jonah! Very concise! We love the library, too!
    Hugs & Kisses

  2. Favorite Line: “Never dark or creepy, or feeling like something has died there and never been found.” LOVED reading this!! Jonah is a very very very smart young man. Can’t wait to hear what Abby has to say!

  3. sweetie says:

    Ahh my son, you are truly one of a kind!!

  4. Jordan says:

    Jonah you’re 10!!!! No way! I’m sure you don’t remember me but I remember you and your sister. You both were always so friendly and polite. Adults love that! πŸ˜‰

    I plan to homeschool my kids too, do you have any advice?

    • Jonah says:

      Let your kids watch tv all day. Just joking. Make sure your kids wake up early to get the day off right. I recommend making little cardboard books (from cereal boxes) that you put paper in and your kids can draw pictures in there of the animals they like when they go to the zoo and aquarium. πŸ™‚

  5. jenn says:

    Jonah, I agree with your dad. You are one of a kind and we miss you very much. Loved the interview. I’ll have Josiah read it when he gets home from school.

  6. Uncle Jon and Auntie Brittney says:

    Jonah this makes us miss you even more!! New England is so lucky to have you and your family there! πŸ™‚ You are much braver than Auntie Brittney to be able to read some of those books! Do you think you will write your own book some day about werewolves?

    Give everyone a HUGE hug from us!!!

    Love,
    Uncle Jon and Aunt Britt

    • Jonah says:

      I probably will not make a book about werewolves, but if you want more information, go to Professor Lupin. But I am writing a book. It’s about the Iditarod trail and me and my friends are racing against our archenemy.

      Say hello to Bella and Joey and baby Ava.

      • Uncle Jon and Auntie Brittney says:

        Jonah that is so great! I bet it is going to be a great book!

        Bewa Hewa says “Hewo!!”

Leave a Reply

