First Novels

I wrote my first book when I was in second grade. I think it was about a rabbit. Several sheets of grade school writing paper were sandwiched in between two pieces of decorated construction paper, hole-punched on the side and secured with yarn. I remember the writing paper, gray and textured with wide rows for writing on the bottom half and blank space for drawing on the top half.

My book, which I think may have been titled “My Book”, was filled with my simple words and crayon pictures as I held it close and marched with my class across the hall to the other second grade class. I stood in line, proudly waiting for my turn to read my story aloud. We had accomplished something big.

As Jonah and Abby have heard me talking about my writing, reading books about writing, and occasionally even writing, ( 🙂 ) they too have wanted to create words and stories. And they each now have “first books” that I hope they will remember well into adulthood.

Abby’s book is titled “The Cat, the Dog, and the Red Lego”. It’s about a cat, a dog, and a red lego. And I’m proud to say that she knows how to use her dialogue tags. “Hello” said the dog to the cat. “Hello” the cat said to the dog. She is still working on the illustrations, but she wrote on every page and carefully stapled all the pages together along the side with her name and title on the front. She was so proud to read the story to first me and then her daddy. She had that look of accomplishment that I felt. And I was so proud.

Jonah is still working on his book. So far he has written 600-700 words. Actually, he has typed the words, which I am very pleased with because we have just started working on typing this year. Because he is using the computer for his book, he has decided to also use computer images for his illustrations. Sometimes he uses the Paint program to create what he is thinking, and sometimes he searches online for an image to match his story. I have loved seeing the creation process with him because he is so detailed and likes to have everything complete for one segment before moving on to the next. He loves when I sit down to read what he has written so far.

Construction paper books and first novels typed into simple word documents. Pure and simple creation from the minds of children.

Do you remember your first book? Or your first creation that you were proud to have accomplished?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Novels

  1. First creation…….? I remember learning how to draw a dog using the letters d o & g. But I’ve forgotten how. I also remember writing a poem in elementary school that won an award. I think. Maybe it was middle school. yeah. It was middle school. And I used big words, too. Might’ve been real proud of that one, actually…

    • Sarah says:

      Drawing a dog using letters reminds me of the show Word World. All the items and animals in the show are created from letters. Now I’m going to have to sit down with paper and pencil and see if I can figure out how to draw the dog. Or maybe I’ll just watch Word World for awhile. That would be easier.

      I love that you won an award for your poem in school. Sharing with others, although scary, is an important part of creating.

Leave a Reply

