Grounding the Babysitter

For the past seven weeks, Jonah and Abby have been very excited to have a babysitter every Tuesday evening as Scott and I helped out with The Marriage Course at our church. In fact, they were more than a bit disappointed this week when the final night came and went and the course was finished.

They know how to make a mom feel indispensable like that.

When we returned home Tuesday night, I was talking with Abby (the babysitter, not my daughter) about how the evening went when both my dear sweet children came running out of their bedroom to say hello. As they have done almost every week. Even though it’s 10 O’clock by the time we get home. And they’re supposed to be asleep.

So I sent them back to bed with a promise to come say good-night in a few minutes and continued talking with Abby-the-babysitter. Apparently she had tried to convince the kids that it would be a really great surprise for Scott and I if the kids actually fell asleep before we got home. Just this one time.

Nope, my Abby replied. That wouldn’t be a good idea because apparently Scott and I would have to ground Abby-the-babysitter if we found our children asleep in their beds when we got home.

?!?!?!

Yep. And when Abby-the-babysitter pointed out that Scott and I weren’t her parents and didn’t have the authority to ground her, my Abby replied that I would go to Abby-the-babysitter’s parents and tell them to ground Abby-the-babysitter for allowing my children to fall asleep before we got home.

We laughed about it and said good-night. Then I went to say good-night to my children and asked my Abby about it. Oh mom, she said. I was just being silly.

She gets that from her daddy. Because as we all know, I’m never silly.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grounding the Babysitter

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    The Bible says: Laughter doeth good like a medicine to the soul. We figure our soul is healthier today! Thanks for the good laugh. That girl is a thinker!
    Love you all

Leave a Reply

