Interview With My Daughter

I called Abby and asked her to set a chair next to me. When she saw the laptop her eyes lit up. “Is it Friday,” she asked. “Do I get to do the blog post now?” She’s very excited. And so am I.

Hello Abby.

Hello. How are you doing?

So, what has been your favorite part of this week?

Playing with friends. And the bestest thing of all is not part of this week, buuuut, it’s five more days until my birthday! Well, four more days until my birthday. (She’s a little off, but close.) And I’ve enjoyed going to the library and checking out books. I really like books. For your information, I think some of the readers out there might get interested in American Girl books. They’re kind of kid’ish, but who cares. I still like to read them. And I really, really, really, really, really like the Littlest Pet Shops. And I’m hoping to get some more soon. Maybe for my birthday. And also, let’s see, I hope all of you guys out there are doing well. Is there any more questions you want to ask me?

Yes.

Like what?

Hey, who’s doing the interview here?

I am.

(Me, grinning.) I meant, I’m the one who is supposed to be asking the questions.

(She shrugs, smiling.) Sorry. I’m just getting carried away.

Okay. Abigail, what is your favorite color and why?

Oh. The reason why I like the color pink is because it reminds me of being a princess. And also, the reason I like the color green is because it reminds me of two things: one is it kind of reminds me of being a camoflage soldier. Plus I just like the color green because it reminds me of the grass. (She did not hear Jonah’s answer. They apparently both like grass. I didn’t know this.)

Excellent. What is your favorite book right now?

What I’m really enjoying right now is Heidi. It’s a book about this girl that is going to her uncle’s house and she finds all these mysterious things and when she has to leave she also has to go to the person who took her to her uncle’s house and she finds a lot of weird old things and she has a lot of maids and servants and things.

Interesting. And who is reading that book to you?

I’m reading it by myself. It’s big words so I can read it.

Big words as in the print is big? Or the words contain a lot of letters?

It’s kind of like the print is big so it’s easy to see what the letters and the words are. Which is a lot easier for me.

What’s your favorite subject in school?

I’m going to have say, handwriting. It’s easy.

Anything else you would like to say to our readers?

I’m getting really interested in the Harry Potter books. Oh yes, I really like the computer and I really like my house because I can move around in it. And I like to pretend I am Super Girl (as she jumps off of the chair multiple times).

Wonderful, Abby. Thank you so much for visiting with me tonight on my blog.

Wait a minute. That’s not all.

Yes?

I really like cats and dogs. Especially Corgis. They’re nice and hyperetic. And let me tell you a story which is kind of sad and interesting. Okay. One time when we were house sitting and pet sitting, we were pet sitting three pets, which was a little tiny bit hard. The first dog that we saw, was pretty nice and was this big fat cat and was nice and cuddly. Because one, he was nice to cuddle with. But here’s one thing about Mr. Tuffy. When I was sleeping and it was morning, Tuffy for some reason started to lay or sit on my head. First he walked around and sat on my head without me having a pillow on my face so it felt weird to have a cat on my face, so I put a pillow on my face but he came back on. So I had to place him out front and then go back to sleep.

(As she takes a deep breath to keep talking…) Alright Abby, that was a very nice story.

Wait a minute, that was not all.

No… (Abby continued to try to tell me more stories.) Baby…(still talking) stop…

What?

I love you. That was a wonderful conversation but this is getting a bit long and it’s past your bedtime. Good-night sweet girl.

What? I thought it was morning, dude!

(me, laughing.)

What?

Good-night baby.

Abby can’t wait to check in with me throughout the day and over the weekend, so be sure and say hello in the comment box.

You all made Jonah feel so special last Friday. Thank you. In fact, this has been so much fun that I believe I’m going to continue having blog conversations with one or the other of my children on Fridays. They can’t wait.

Happy Weekend!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Interview With My Daughter

  1. Steph says:

    Abby, it was great to get to know you a little more through your interview. Pink is Ellie’s favorite color too and probably for the same reasons as you!
    Mr. Tuffy sounds a lot like my grandmothers cat. And you are right, it is tough to sleep with a cat on your head 🙂 Do you think that is why they named him Mr. Tuffy, because it is “tough” to sleep with him in the room?

    • Abby says:

      Thank you for replying. I think the reason he is called Mr. Tuffy is because he is full of mostly fur. You can’t really see his skin or anything. You only see big fluffy fur. I hope Ellie and Lizzie are doing well. And the baby. I thought Ellie might say that because I know she really likes pink.

  2. sweetie says:

    Abby, You are too much! I was wondering where this love for the littlest pet shop came from? To me this came right out of the pink!! I hope you are having a great day and that your handwriting goes well!!

  3. Grandpa & Grandma says:

    Very nice job, Abby! It was easy to see you were well prepared for your interview! We are so proud at how well you are doing in your reading! You are a wonderful little girl – oops – not so little anymore with another birthday coming soon!
    We love you!

  4. Abby says:

    Thank you for replying, Grandpa and Grandma. I am not so little anymore. I might be 10 inches. But I won’t be for very long more because I have a birthday coming up and I’ll be seven years old and my birthday is only 4 or 6 more days away.

  5. Janet says:

    Hey Sarah & Abby,

    Emma said her favorite color was pink and she loves, loves, loves Petshops and any Eloise book as well. 🙂 She misses you and wants to know if you want to be pen pals? We love and miss you all! Please ENJOY the grass for us. LOL

    • Abby says:

      I would like to be pen pals with you. And I’m happy you like the Littlest Petshops too because I really like them too. I hope you guys are having a great day today. That’s all. Bye bye.

  6. Uncle Jon and Auntie Brittney says:

    Abby-
    I love that you love American Girl books! That is what I used to read too! Well, me as in Aunt Brittney, they are a little girly for Uncle Jon! hehe 🙂 I have been thinking about you a lot as I get Ava’s room ready! I wish you and your mommy were here to help me pick out some girly stuff! I think you would know just what a little girl would want! 🙂 I hope you have a good weekend and Uncle Jon and I sure love reading you and Jonah’s interviews! 🙂

    Love you!!

    • Abby says:

      I wish I could come over there and help out with Ava’s room. I hope that you guys are having a good day today. And that you guys can do all of Ava’s room. That’s all. Bye-bye.

  7. Oh my gosh this is the best!! It reads like Abby’s 13 or something. And, Abby, I’m so glad that you’re reading so much! And that you’re going to see lots of very very green grass soon. I remember when the snow all melts and the grass explodes in color! It’s fantastic.

    I hope you have a great weekend, Abby. And tell the rest of the family that Mrs. Mandy said hey. 🙂

    • Abby says:

      Thank you for replying. And I can’t wait for the summer grass to come. But right now, we’ve got some snow but we can see the grass. We can see a lot of grass, it’s just that we haven’t been able to play in it too much.

  8. Papa says:

    Hi Abby, great interview. It was fun reading about about what you like and how you are looking forward to your birthday. You will soon be 7 , you are getting to be a big girl. love you very much.

    • Abby says:

      Thank you for replying. I cannot wait for my birthday. I’m hoping soon that we can go over there and see you guys. Love you. Bye Bye. Oh, and say hello to Memaw and Oreo and Smokey and Tori for me.

  9. Jordan says:

    I love American girl books too (even though they *are* for kids)! What American girl is your favorite? I love Molly. It’s so fun getting to know you Abby! 🙂

    • Abby says:

      My favorite character, there’s two…I mean three. They are Samantha, Kit and Felicity. I hope you are doing well. That’s all. Bye bye.

Leave a Reply

