Favorite Books

I have been reading Writing the Breakout Novel, by Donald Maass. In it he asks, what are your top three favorite novels of all time?

Although I reserve the right to alter this list at any time, I would have to say:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows, by J.K. Rowling. Amazing. I’ve read the entire Harry Potter series several times, and have read the seventh book probably 7 or 8 times. The themes of love, friendship, self-sacrifice, redemption and the rejection of redemption get me every time.

Where the Red Fern Grows, by Wilson Rawls. I cried when I read this as a kid. I cried when I read this to my kids. Wilson Rawls does a fabulous job of creating a world and characters that draw me in every time.

Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen. I love the BBC production. I love the book. This is another one that I read over and over, and am still drawn in every time.

If you had to choose, what would be your three favorite novels of all time?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Books, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favorite Books

  1. Jordan says:

    What only 3?!

    Anne of Windy Poplars (I love all 8 of the “Anne books” but AWP is my fav of them all)

    Emily of New Moon (can you tell I love LMM? LMM, IMHO is an amazing writer- where/how she comes up w/ the characters/ideas in her books— ? wow!)

    Jane Erye (I read this book once a year- classic)

    Here’s a few more:
    Wuthering Heights, Catcher in the Rye, Little Women, anything by Rosamund Piltcher or Maeve Binchey (I own all their books), 1984, The Jungle (one of the reasons I don’t read red meat), anything by Jan Karon…

    • Sarah says:

      Yes, it was quite difficult for me to limit myself to three as well. Too many good books, too little time.

      I have just started reading the Anne books and am loving them. Can’t believe I lived so many years without reading them. And yes, I love LMM’s voice and writing style.

      Love Jan Karon as well. I’m going to have to add a couple of the other books you mentioned to my reading list.

Leave a Reply

