Captured Moments

My computer desktop background is set to a picture of Jonah and Abby that was taken last year while we were living in Albuquerque. I love this picture and it makes me smile every single time I see it.

We were at the Bio Park. It must have been summer because Abby is wearing a sundress. I almost said that it was summer because Jonah is holding a Sonic cup, but we are happy to enjoy Sonic any time of the year. Abby had worn her pink princess baseball cap that day and Jonah had worn his black “detective” hat, but they had switched hats to be silly.

Jonah, in the pink princess hat, is holding a sonic straw between his pursed lips, the end of the straw is dripping as it trumpets into the air. The sides of his mouth give away the fact that he is about to laugh.

Abby, wearing the black hat, has her arm flung around Jonah’s shoulders. Her other hand is sitting jauntily on her hip and she has a big grin, minus her upper two front teeth.

So much of their personalities are captured in this picture. Carefree, yet caring for each other. Silly and playful. Bursting with energy. Filled with life.

I don’t remember taking this picture; it was snapped quickly along with others before we moved on. I wish now that I had taken a moment to burn it into my memory through sound, touch, smell. To engage with them…right then…through more than just a quick laugh and a click of the camera button. They’re both growing up so quickly.

I’m with them every day, all day, and yet I feel like time is slipping so quickly through my fingers. They long for time to speed up while I try to not rush through everything. To breath a bit more deeply. To be fully present in more of their moments along the way.

So today as my baby turns a year older, I’ll wax nostalgic a bit less and engage in the moment a bit more. And I’ll smile when I open my computer.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Captured Moments

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    How sweet – –

Leave a Reply

