Ugly, Ugly Restrictions

Over the past few months, we have been working toward eating healthier foods. And as far as our meals go, we have done pretty well. We are now using about 75% whole wheat flour instead of white processed flour and have almost completely switched our sugar away from processed white sugar. And we’re consuming more fruits and vegetables.

Yay us.

Except it’s not really yay. In fact, despite all the healthy changes, I have to admit that I am probably consuming more unhealthy food than before I started making the changes to our diet. And it’s all because of snacks. 😦

In my mind, I justify the ice cream, potato chips, candy bars, extra creamer in my coffee, etc., etc. because I ate so healthy for all my regular meals. Kinda like donuts are okay because all the calories are in the donut holes. Right?

Except my body doesn’t agree. I know that my health issues are not strictly related to my diet. But I also know that when I carefully manage what I eat, my symptoms are easier to handle.

And my symptoms right now? Yeah, they’re pretty ugly. If I’m not able to find some relief soon through diet and lifestyle changes, Scott and I are discussing the possibility of me trying some medication. And I don’t want that.

So, beginning next Monday, I’m putting myself on a strict diet for at least 6 weeks.

No white flour (outside the 25% I use in baking). Including no potato chips, no white pasta, etc.

No extra sugar. At all. I’ll still eat fruit and dairy for now because that is naturally occurring sugar. And there are some ingredients that I use frequently for meals that do contain small amounts of sugar that I will continue to use. But, no sugar in my tea and coffee. No sweets with sugar in them. No soda or juices containing sugar. No sugar that I can possibly avoid.

And I’m going to be exercising regularly. At least 4 times a week for a minimum of 30 minutes a day. And I can’t include housecleaning in that. Or walking to the van. Or shopping.

So, why am I sharing all this? I’m fishing. I don’t do well restricting myself and I already know that this diet is going to feel nearly impossible to maintain. But for my mental and physical health, I know that I need to try this before I start trying medication.

I’m asking for prayers. And I’m fishing for encouragement. I’d love to hear some, “you can do it” right now, because I’m doubting my resolve.

Plus I am fishing for accountability from anyone who cares to check in with me, either by email or here on the blog (even if you want to comment on a post that has nothing to do with my health!)

And while you’re here, is there anything that I can be praying/encouraging/holding accountable for you?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ugly, Ugly Restrictions

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    We are here for you – and you CAN do this because Jesus is your strength!
    Big goals are reached in small steps, so just concentrate on “today”.
    Love and prayers –

  2. Jordan says:

    Go Sarah!!!

    You can totally do this! And i’ll be praying for you and checking in with you too.

  3. Papa says:

    I was planning on joining you in working on better health BUT I just found out that mom is heading home with a cherry pie, maybe next week.

  4. Pingback: Practicing Gratitude: Week 12 « My Peace and Joy

  5. Pingback: That whole diet thing… « My Peace and Joy

Leave a Reply

