Fam Friday: Jonah

I’m sitting down with Jonah for a few minutes before bed. He has his nose buried in a book as he waits for me to finish setting up for “stunning news from New England”.

And what exactly is the “stunning news” for our readers, Jonah?

You should all read The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Why?

It’s a good source of adventure. A good source of good and evil. And a common source of smartness, which means just use your brain and you’ll figure out the answer easier and quicker.

Jonah, is there anything particular that you would like to talk about this evening?

Easter is coming.

And why do you want people to know that?

Oh, wait, I remember something. I’m having a dental checkup on my spacers and hopefully he is going to take them out.

Jonah, you have been doing some service projects as part of your Awana experience. Tell me a little bit about, not so much the projects themselves, but why do you feel it is important for kids to be involved in community service?

Well, first of all, it helps… Hmmm…that’s hard. It helps the kids think about other people. And that it is good to help other people. And it can be fun.

Have your service projects been fun.

Uh huh.

Excellent. The weather has slowly been warming, although not so much today. But, what is your favorite thing about spring?

It’s getting very close to being warm enough for squirt gun battles. And that it’s easier to take walks without having to walk through 100 feet of snow. (as he giggles at his own joke.)

It’s fun to play balloon volleyball. Since the air in it is not helium, it comes right back down.

Jonah, you have a little sister. What would you say is the best thing, and also the most challenging, about having a little sister.

(As Abby protests that she is not little) I thought I just heard a little fly buzzing in my ear.

The fun thing about her is that it can be fun playing two player video games with her. Plus, when we are playing games, I can spy on what she is doing without her realizing quickly.

And the challenging thing is that she keeps poking her head around even when I ask her not to.

Jonah, you just suggested that I ask you what your favorite music is. So, what is your favorite music?

I like C.W. McCall — Greatest Hits to be very specific — and Newsboys’ Shine. And I recently acquired some new ones. Sticks and Stones from the How to Train Your Dragon soundtrack; In Christ Alone; and also, some Owl City: Ocean Eyes.

That sounds like some pretty great music.

Beware of Apples.

Apple the fruit, or the computer?

The computer company! They invade your privacy.

But I like their stickers.

Well, Jonah. It’s been very fun talking with you.

I also have another book to recommend. Wolves of the Beyond by Kathryn Lasky — the maker of Guardians of Ga’Hoole.

Very nice. Thank you for visiting with me tonight.

And that has been another installment of our fun family conversations. Jonah will again be checking in through the day and over the weekend so comment away.

Happy Friday!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fam Friday: Jonah

  1. sweetie says:

    You know, Jonah, that because you said it was getting warmer out and you didn’t have to walk through all that snow, that God made it snow last night. Thanks. Really appreciate it. Your grounded!

    • Jonah says:

      Hahahehehaha. I am not grounded! It was a coincidence. It could have been snowing while I was talking. See ya.

  2. Debbi says:

    Hi Jonah,
    Can you find the mistake your dad made in his response to your interview??? Scott….really….how long did you live with me???
    Stop making Jonah think Apples are bad…we know better, don’t we Jonah….

    • Jonah says:

      They try to get all your information!! But I like the shuffle.

      What tea do you like? I like Jasmine with some Sugar in the Raw.

      That’s all. See ya. Say hello to the animals.

      • Debbi says:

        Ask Dad if Microsoft tries to do the same thing…. (yes!)
        You know what kind of tea I like….Lousianne tea with real live honest to goodness sugar…the way all good southerners like to drink it! I found an arm band for the shuffle…I’ll have to get you one. What was Dad’s grammar mistake???? O-dog and Smokey are good. Tori-cat came out to see me when I got home from school, she curled up in my lap and slept! O, S & T all say hi back!

        • Jonah says:

          I’m glad the animals are okay. Try to work on Oreo’s OBD (obsessive ball disorder). And is Smokey actually starting to catch on with catching the ball? I hope he is.

          I found out if you hold the play button down (on the shuffle) it will cause the battery to go down and makes the shuffle think it is on low battery. If you do it again, it makes the shuffle think it is on full battery. Kinda fun.

          I like sweet tea too! Including Jasmine, with lots of sugar. May I please make some jasmine?

          • Debbi says:

            Nope, Smoke doesn’t even look at the ball!! Have’t thrown the ball much for O-dog. Gotta love that sweet tea! Glad you’re enjoying the shuffle.

            • Jonah says:

              Grandpa and Grandma reminded me of the squirt guns and water fights with my cousins at your place. Hmmmm….

    • Sarah says:

      Grammar and spelling rules do not apply to blog comments. Kinda like texting and twitter. šŸ™‚

  3. Dad & Dad says:

    Jonah – your insightful responses are very enlightening!
    We are keeping our eye out for big, bad squirt gun ideas! But you know, water balloons make a mighty big splash – you just need to pick up the mess!
    Love you!

    • Jonah says:

      I miss seeing the fresh green grass at your house. Our grass here hasn’t figured out spring yet. Glad you are keeping a look out.

  4. Dad & Dad says:

    Oh my goodness! aka: Grandma & Grandpa!

  5. Jonah: I like all your answers to the questions! Have you heard Owl City’s version of “In Christ Alone?” It’s a neat one!

    • Jonah says:

      No, I haven’t heard that, but I want to. Is the dog next door friendly? Because I remember seeing it when we went there. And say hello to your naturist. Your seagull that you put on your Christmas card. Did you guys get any snow? See ya.

      • Good morning Jonah!
        Here’s a link to Owl City’s “In Christ Alone” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnWw24s5gG8
        Did you know Owl City is just one guy? We get all that music from one guy on his computer!

        The dog next door is very friendly, but likes to howl a lot. It makes it hard for me to take Sunday afternoon naps sometimes. Boooo…

        We actually ate dinner with the Naturist on Friday. He has a little girl named “Molly” who has tiny blonde ringlets that remind me of Abby.

        Somebody said they saw snowflakes fall in our area in January. But I didn’t see any. It hardly ever snows here. I remember that it snowed once when I was a little girl–maybe eleven. And it snowed barely an inch. And my brother and I made a grassy snowman outside that looked like three baseballs stacked on top of each other with twigs sticking out!

        • Jonah says:

          We found the song today and I like it. I didn’t know it was just one guy. I thought it was one lead singer with a lot of other people.

          I hope the dog will not howl, because I know howling and that’s tough. I don’t take sunday afternoon naps! (shaking his head in disbelief.)

          That’s all. See ya.

Leave a Reply

