Stop Copying Me!

While driving the kids to their afternoon swim lesson, Jonah and Abby were being unusually silly in the back seat. They are almost always silly — a trait they inherited from the father — but today was more than normal.

Jonah was trying to obtain Abby’s agreement for something, and instead, she began to copy everything he said.

Stop copying me.
Stop copying me.

I mean it, Abby. Stop copying me.
I mean it Abby. Stop copying me.

You just said you have to stop copying me. So stop.
You just said you have to stop copying me. So stop.

(Interrupted by fits of giggles from both of them.)

Okay goofball. (Proceeded by one of Jonah’s long and complicated stories which he continued making up without pausing for more than the briefest breath.)
Okay goofball. (brief pause.) Hummamamnamamalobama, etc.

(Both kids bursting out in laughter.)

See, now you can’t copy me anymore.
See, now you can’t copy me anymore.

Abby…
Abby…

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stop Copying Me!

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    Very cute!
    Very cute!
    Love you all –
    Love you all –

  2. “A trait they inherited from their father” = haha NICE jab! 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      *grin* Yep, that’s a long running joke between the four of us. Jonah and Abby claim their silliness comes from both Scott and I. Scott and I routinely “blame” each other.

Leave a Reply

