Thoughts of Food

The first day of this diet was very ugly for me. I had become accustomed to having some sort of sweet every day. And I craved sugar all day long. I woke up wanting something sweet, and my fruit smoothie didn’t cut it.

The second day I still wanted sugar, but fresh fruit became a strong enough substitute.

Since then, I really haven’t cared that much about sugar. I think my body doesn’t normally want sugar very often; I had just fallen into the habit of eating sugar for other reasons — a reward, feeding a bad mood, supplementing hunger, etc.

I have always enjoyed whole grains and fruits and vegetables, so cutting the white flour hasn’t been difficult. So far. Especially with how easy whole grains are to buy now. Steamed brown rice, whole wheat flour, whole grain crackers, all-natural potato chips. I’m thankful for the all-natural, organic and otherwise health movements that have pushed into the mainstream over the past few years.

What I have been surprised by is how hungry I have felt. I know I’m cutting out two big things, but I’ve been focusing on eating plenty of “filling” foods: avocados, brown rice, nuts, cheese, beans…those foods that are supposed to keep the stomach busy between meals.

These foods are not working for nearly enough time. I don’t know if sugar and highly processed foods trick the body into feeling full, or if I ate them so unconsciously that I didn’t realize the quantity I was consuming. Maybe both. Either way, I’m much more aware of what and how much I am eating, which is good.

I haven’t noticed a change in my physical health yet. I’m still having the same pains everyday and I’m still definitely fighting the fatigue. But even if the six weeks pass without any change in my symptoms, just seeing a record of my food and exercise convinces me that I’m building a better, healthier body.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts of Food

  1. Hutch says:

    Sarah, I appreciate the way you end this post: “I’m building a better, healthier body.” That’s a super helpful way for me to thinking of it. For me, building something sounds so much better than maintaining or just trying to be healthy.

    Thanks for the new way of thinking!

    • Sarah says:

      Hey Hutch! Glad it helps. I hadn’t thought too much about the word choice, but you’re right, I do like the sound of building better than “trying to”.

  2. I’m SO excited for you–that you’re doing this and that you’re doing this well. But the whole “hungry” feeling can make a person crazy.

    You know when I did that 21-day fast/detox thing back in teh late summer? The thing that saved me was almonds. Can you have almonds? They are pretty filling, and have enough protein to turn off the “hungry” switch in the brain. I also learned that eating a big, hearty, filling breakfast would do better to get me through the day. But days when I ate teeny breakfasts? I stayed hungry all day. Drove myself crazy.

    Not that you’re asking for advice. You might not be asking for advice, which now makes me the person giving unsolicited advice. Did you know that unsolicited advice makes me crazy sometimes? And now here I am. Hi. Ok. How about this? You can see this comment as a commiseration of sorts. yeah. Or just ignore it altogether. 😉

    • Sarah says:

      This made me smile! I like your unsolicited advice.

      I have been eating nuts, mostly cashews and pistachios, which does help some. And I have been having oatmeal or adding flax to my smoothies for breakfast, so I feel like I’m getting a pretty solid meal first thing. I think I’ve just been eating way too much for way too long, and now that I’m actually keeping track of my eating and keeping healthy limits, my body is hungry. 😦 Waiting for it to adjust.

      Breakfast is the easiest meal for me to skimp on or skip, though, so thanks for the reminder that I need to watch out for that.

Leave a Reply

