Facing the Uncomfortable

Social media is way, way, WAY outside my comfort zone. Sometimes I start to think about my “online presence”, which by any standard is small, and I wonder: how do I have an online presence at all! Privacy loving, socially awkward little me.

When I first started blogging, the thought of opening up my thoughts and words to the world was terrifying. Convincing myself that no more than a handful of people were likely to ever actually read my words allowed me to begin.

Even now, at least 8 out of 10 times, clicking that little “publish” button on a new post requires a battle within my heart and mind. I worry that my words will be misunderstood, or cause offense, or allow others to judge me. And I worry that I’m just making a fool of myself, talking to dead space while the crickets chirp. I feel like I’m back in high school trying to be cool but believing I’m really just the class joke.

And yet I blog.

Because although I’ve spent much of my life building walls around myself, I still crave relationship. As much as I value privacy, I still have a strong need to be known. And although interacting on the internet feels like etching my words in stone for the future to haunt me with, I love crafting words into stories.

So I chase the difficult, step into the uncomfortable, and attempt to continue on.

What do you continue doing, even though it is outside your comfort zone?

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in faith, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Facing the Uncomfortable

  1. Social Media used to freak me out, too. Really. πŸ™‚ And I like what your write–how you craft words. Keep doing it.

    I’m very much in my “discomfort” zone with this band situation. it’s pushing up against a number of uncomfortable areas of my life… Kinda strange, but yeah. Mainly the whole performance thing. I get nervous just typing about it. But I’m putting my big girl pants on and facing it. Kinda. πŸ˜‰

    • Sarah says:

      Glad you’re putting your big girl pants on. πŸ™‚ Wish I was closer so I could hear more of your band stuff. I think it’s really great that you’re chasing that side of your music.

  2. Papa says:

    Just wanted you to know that I love reading your blogs Keep them up.

Leave a Reply

