Fam Friday: Abby, Custard Tarts and Princesses

The sky outside is slowly turning darker as I am sitting down to talk with Abby this evening. We have had a full and fun day, and at least one of us is very happily anticipating the royal wedding tomorrow.

Abby, I’ve missed talking with you on the blog. How are you doing today?

Good.

We have something special happening tomorrow. Would you like to talk about that?

Is the special thing that I am going to see a princess tomorrow? A real live princess!

Yes, that is the special thing I am talking about. Tell me why you are excited about that?

Because I really like princesses. I’ve read a thousand princess books.

Is this princess going to be like the princesses in your book?

Yeah. Except for she’s not going to be Disney. She’s going to be real life. And I get to see her on t.v.

Well, remember that we talked about how she’s not going to be like one of the princesses in your books. How do you think Disney princesses and fairy tale princesses are different than this real princess-to-be?

The difference between a real princess and a fake princess is a fake princess is just a computer?

How do you think their lives are different?

The real princesses come from different places. But the fake princesses just kind of come from one place.

Do you think it would be easy to be a real princess?

Not really. Because you have to try to act very grown up and stuff and try not to run or anything.

Very true. What else do you think would be difficult for a real princess?

I don’t know.

Do you think that the wedding couple will ride in a carriage drawn by horses?

Yes.

Is that pretty exciting.

Yeah.

What did we make today?

Tarts. Tarts, tarts, tarts. Do we get to have tarts while we have the show?

Probably not. It’s going to be very early in the morning. How did you like the tarts?

They were okay.

We’ll have to keep trying some different custard tart recipes, won’t we?

Yep.

Well, Abby, even though it will be an obnoxiously early morning, I am looking forward to watching the royal wedding with you tomorrow. Maybe we will add some comments to the blog throughout the day as we watch the wedding and see what happens. Sound good?

Yep.

Anyone else planning to watch the coverage of the royal wedding tomorrow morning? Have fun chatting with Abby in the comments and we’ll try to check in and add some more commentary throughout the day.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Fun for Kids, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fam Friday: Abby, Custard Tarts and Princesses

  1. sweetie says:

    Abby, you are and always will be my special princess!! I am glad that you had the opportunity to watch the special event this morning (I also hope that this means you will go to sleep early tonight)!!

  2. Abby says:

    I think it will mean that I will go to sleep early tonight. But not until I want to hear Harry Potter! I miss you. Bye.

  3. Abby says:

    I really liked seeing the princess. Her dress was looonng. About as long as this table.

    I as kind of surprised that the carriage (they rode in) did not have a roof, but it was all red inside. I liked the horses. They were white and black and brown.

    But now I’m tired. I took a nap, though.

  4. Papa says:

    Hi Princess Abby, Did you enjoy the royal wedding. I bet you would like to go for a ride in the carriage. The church sure was pretty wasn’t it. Love Papa

    • Abby says:

      Yes, the church was pretty! I would like to go on a ride in the carriage. That would be great. Love you.

  5. Grandpa & Grandma says:

    The princess looked as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside! But, Abby, what about all those wonderful hats!!! Which one was your favorite? I liked the Queen’s. She always wears tasteful hats.
    Love you!

    • Abby says:

      I think the hats were good. They were like…this big. (holding both arms out.) I liked the Queen’s hat. My favorite hat of all was the one that looked like a shield, but it didn’t cover all of her head. I think it was dark purple.

Leave a Reply

