I’m a Big Kid Now

Anyone else have that diaper commercial song in their head? No? Hmmm. Anyway…

Now that the weather is staying warm outside and spring is flourishing, the kids and I have started taking bike rides. And by started, I mean twice. They love that I have a bike this year and that we are able to go further, together, than they are allowed to go alone.

The first ride, we stayed on campus. Bad idea.

This campus is beautiful and perfect for taking long walks to enjoy the green grass, the towering trees, the birds and squirrels…

But this is not a flat campus. Quite the opposite, the main buildings of the campus sit at the top of a hill, with the apartment buildings at the bottom of the hill. And granted, it isn’t that bad to walk up the hill — if one is not in any hurry — but pedaling one’s way up on a road bike with no gears to shift is not fun. Not fun at all.

So yesterday, the kids and I took our bikes off campus and enjoyed riding along the roads near campus. Both Jonah and Abby did an excellent job of using good road safety on their bikes, and although they were both very tired when we returned (until their friends came outside to play), they were happy with the ride.

I returned with my heart pounding, and not because of the exercise. Rather, from watching my two children riding their bikes along the narrow-edged road littered with gravel, rocks, sticks and other bike-tire hazards while cars and trucks zoomed past at what I am sure was a much higher speed than the posted signs allowed. Thump-thump. Thump-thump. Thump-thump-thump-thump-thump.

*deep breath*

They did great. And I know they are old enough to take bike rides like this. I know it’s better to slowly teach them responsibility than to try to protect them into rebellion. I know they had a great day with me and loved riding off-campus. I know.

But it’s difficult to still my mind. To ignore the visions of traumatic possibilities. To remember that they are protected not so much by me as they are by God.

One thing I’ve learned: growing up is easy. Watching one’s kids grow up — that’s tough!

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Kids, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m a Big Kid Now

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    Great fun! Great parenting! You all keep it up!
    Love

Leave a Reply

