That whole diet thing…

So…

I’m coming up on what should be the end of week five of my crazy restrictive diet. And by “should be”, I mean I’m no longer following the diet.

I did adhere to the diet very strictly for one whole month. But after several weeks I was still seeing no positive results. My pain was no better. My fatigue was no better. And my mood, well, that was much worse. Because cutting such big categories out of my diet was really tough.

So, the weekend before Easter, Scott and I had a little heart-to-heart conversation and decided that if I wasn’t seeing any positive results by that point, I probably wouldn’t magically start seeing them in the next two weeks. Besides that, even if I did start to see some results, they probably were not worth the sharp decline in my mood.

Because we all know that old adage: If mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.

I felt bad stopping the diet early, because I don’t like to give up. And I really hoped that changing my diet would make a difference. But overall, I’m okay with not finishing out the whole six weeks.

And, I learned quite a bit about myself. Because unfortunately, restricting myself often brings out those negative aspects of my personality/character that I need to work on. I know I need to work on not feeding my emotions. And I definitely need to work on not being grumpy when I make the positive choice not to feed my emotions.

So, from here, I’m going to continue adding more exercise into my schedule and I will focus on eating less (although now allowing myself sweet treats — in moderation) and losing weight.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in fitness, health. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That whole diet thing…

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    Good for you – keep it up!
    And enjoy that bike –

    • Sarah says:

      πŸ™‚ I am enjoying the bike. I forgot how much fun it can be to ride a bike. We may have to try riding our bikes to the library next time…

  2. Hey friend. Just catching up on your world. If it makes you feel better, I had to do that whole 21-day detox thing last summer and my doc said that I’d know in that time frame if I had any food allergies. I think the 4-week mark was okay. πŸ™‚

    • Sarah says:

      Hey. I’ve been thinking about you.

      I’m still disappointed that there wasn’t some difference after 4 weeks of no sugar or white flour, but it is nice to not have to keep restricting myself.

Leave a Reply

