Quick & Easy Recipe: Biscuits and Gravy

I love this meal. A lot. And it really is better as dinner than breakfast. I used to be afraid to make gravy, but it really is easy. And yummy. I’m sorry, but it is one of those “by sight” recipes, so I’m giving measurements to the best of my ability.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

1 lb Jimmy Dean sausage (regular flavor)
1 stick salted butter
3-4 TBS flour
1 cup Half and Half
1-2 cups milk
Salt and Pepper, to taste
1 bag frozen buttermilk biscuits

Remove biscuits from bag and put in oven to cook, according to package directions.

In large skillet, brown sausage. Remove sausage from pan and set aside, but leave all drippings in pan.

Over medium heat, add butter to sausage drippings. When melted, add flour and whisk until all of melted butter has been absorbed by flour. Slowly add Half-and-Half, whisking well. Slowly add 1 cup of milk and whisk well. Bring gravy to a boil, still whisking, and allow to simmer for 1-2 minutes. If gravy thickens too much, add additional milk until desired consistency. Salt and pepper to taste.

Add sausage into gravy.

Serve over hot biscuits and enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
P.S. My sweetie would say that I have left out one crucial step: split biscuits in half, butter each side, then pour gravy over the biscuits.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quick & Easy Recipe: Biscuits and Gravy

  1. Dad & Mom says:

    Sounds quick & Yummy!
    Thanks! And have a Super Day!

    • Sarah says:

      They are quick and yummy. I have a garden plot now, and spent Friday weeding and planting seeds. Pretty super day and weekend. 🙂 Hope you are having a great weekend too.

  2. Papa says:

    Had them this morning and they are GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you simply
    shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

