Tumtum and Nutmeg

We found a new book on our last visit to the library. This isn’t unusual. I always scan the new books propped on top of the stacks and usually select a few.

For this book, though, I was wandering with Abby through the chapter books, looking for something she might enjoy reading that wasn’t beyond her comprehension or interest levels. She shrugged when I showed her Tumtum and Nutmeg. “Sure, Mom.”

Tumtum (because he has a rather large one) and Nutmeg (because her hair is the color of…) are the Mr. and Mrs. Nutmouse who live in the broom cupboard of Rose Cottage. They set out to help make life a bit better for the two children who live in Rose Cottage, until the children’s Aunt Ivy comes to visit. Aunt Ivy dislikes all animals, and when she spots two mice (wearing clothes!) the adventure escalates.

Tumtum and Nutmeg had Jonah, Abby and I hooked from the first sentence. Emily Bearn writes a fun and delightful story that is warm and engaging. I loved reading it to my kids and it quickly became one of those rare books that I protectively felt should only be read aloud by me — because I didn’t want to miss any of the book myself.

If you have not read Tumtum and Nutmeg (the first story in the three story set, Tumtum and Nutmeg, Adventures Beyond Nutmouse Hall) by Emily Bearn, whether child or adult, I highly recommend you do so.

I have no material connection with this book or author. It was simply a great find at the library.

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

