Of Knees, Chins, and Coconut Sugar Scrub

Meghan likes to slurp on knees and chins.  Not sure why. It’s just her thing.

So if you are holding her in your lap, pretty soon she will focus on either your knee or your chin with that determined stare.  She’ll think for a moment…probably planning the slurp in detail, and then she will open her mouth, lean, aannndd slurp.

This causes no small amount of laughter from the siblings and the parents.  It never ceases to amaze me how every child can be so different.  Again and again I find myself thinking, “but Jonah and Abby never did that!” Nope, they didn’t. Meghan does.

So, throughout my pregnancy with Meghan and continuing after her birth, my skin has been very unhappy.  I did not wear any makeup for months because I couldn’t.  My face was just too dry and scaly.   I was finally able to heal my chapped and bleeding lips with dedicated use of an expensive tube of specialty lip balm, but no matter how much lotion/facial cream I used, the rest of my face would not be appeased.

Then about a month ago, I began using a daily oil cleanse and a weekly sugar scrub on my face and after the very first use, my face has been so happy.  I have completely quit using all other facial cleansers and lotions.

At this point, you may be thinking, my goodness this is random.  What on earth does this have to do with Meghan liking to slurp on knees and chins?

Well, yesterday I was holding Meghan shortly after showering and using my sugar scrub (made from coconut oil and sugar).  Pretty soon she started giving my chin the stare.  And then she leaned.  And slurped.

And then…she grabbed onto my face with both her tiny hands and began licking and slurping all over my face.  She had tasted the coconut and sugar and she wanted more!

Scott and I laughed so hard.

Jonah and Abby definitely never did that. *grin*

Thanks to Tsh at Simple Living for the idea on How to Clean Your Face Naturally

About Sarah

I love being wife to my sweetie, mama and teacher to my three wonderful children, and friend to people near and far. I love to express myself through words. I blog to connect with others and so that someday, hopefully, my kiddos will understand who their mama was...way back when.
This entry was posted in family, Fun Stuff, Just Relaxing, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Of Knees, Chins, and Coconut Sugar Scrub

  1. Grandpa & Grandma says:

    That is just too cute! Happy slurping, Meghan!!
    Love

  2. Brittney says:

    What a little cutie! It makes me excited to see what kind of quirks baby #2 will have! I can’t even begin to claim I know what to expect! haha

    • Sarah says:

      I love hearing stories about all my nieces and nephews. Can’t wait to meet #2! And yes, I thought I was starting to figure things out after the first two, but Meghan is teaching me all over again that I have no idea what to expect. Parenthood keeps us on our toes.

Leave a Reply

